TIF Districts

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

TIF Districts are established in compliance with State of Illinois statutes. The mechanism is designed to assist financially desirable developments that but for the financial assistance would not be able to achieve. The City's TIF Districts have been very successful historically. Annual reports for each TIF District are available through the Economic Development Division of the City Manager's Office.

Evanston has five active Tax Increment Financing (TIF) Districts.

They are Washington National (District 4), Howard and Ridge (District 5), West Evanston (District 6), Dempster Dodge (District 7), and Chicago Main (District 8). The former Downtown (District 1), Southwest (District 2), and Howard and Hartrey (District 3) have been closed.

TIF Information

TIF Overview Map

  1. Downtown TIF  (Map TIF 1)  Closed TIF
  2. Southwest  (Map TIF 2)  (Ordinances)  (Redevelopment  PlanClosed TIF
  3. Howard and Hartrey  (Map TIF 3)  (Ordinances)  (Redevelopment PlanClosed TIF
  4. Washington National  (Map TIF 4)  (Ordinances)  (Redevelopment Plan)
  5. Howard and Ridge  (Map TIF 5)  (Ordinances)  (Redevelopment Plan)
  6. West Evanston  (Map TIF 6)  (Ordinances)  (Redevelopment Plan)
  7. Dempster Dodge (Map TIF 7)  (Ordinances)  (Redevelopment Plan)
  8. Chicago Main  (Map TIF 8)  (Ordinances)  (Redevelopment Plan)

View a video and PowerPoint of the presentation, and read the TIF report prepared by Northwestern University Kellogg School of Management students for the City of Evanston on 12/11/2012.

Annual Reports  


FY 2012

FY 2013

FY 2014

FY 2015  FY 2016  FY 2017 
Southwest Southwest FY 2012 Southwest FY 2013 Southwest FY 2014  Southwest FY 2015


( closed)

Howard and Hartrey Howard Hartrey FY 2012 Howard Hartrey FY2013 Howard Hartrey FY 2014  Howard Hartrey FY 2015  Howard Hartrey FY 2016  Howard Hartrey 2017
Washington National Washington FY 2012 Washington National FY 2013 Washington National FY 2014 Washington National FY 2015  Washington National FY 16  Washington National 2017

Howard and Ridge

Howard Ridge FY 2012 Howard Ridge FY 2013 Howard Ridge FY 2014  Howard Ridge FY 2015  Howard Ridge FY 16  Howard Ridge 2017
West Evanston West Evanston FY 2012 West Evanston FY 2013 West Evanston FY 2014  West Evanston FY 2015  West Evanston FY 16  West Evanston 2017
Dempster Dodge - Dempster Dodge FY 2013 Dempster Dodge FY 2014 Dempster Dodge FY 2015  Dempster Dodge FY 16  Dempster Dodge 2017
View archived TIF Annual Reports here

TIF Resources

For additional information on Tax Increment Financing, please visit:

Cook County Clerk

Illinois Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity

State of Illinois Comptroller

The Illinois Tax Increment Association

Joint Review Board

A Joint Review Board (JRB) is initially established when a new Tax Increment Financing District (TIF) is under consideration and makes a recommendation to the City Council. The JRB is composed of members representing certain taxing districts which are affected by the TIF. The Joint Review Board meets annually to discuss the annual report filed with the State of Illinois on each of the TIF Districts within the city.

In order to learn more about the JRB and view previous meeting agendas and minutes please click on Joint Review Board.

For more information about business and economic development efforts please visit the City of Evanston’s Economic Development website: www.evanstonedge.com

Sign up for the Economic Development e-newsletter

Doing Business with Evanston

If you missed the April 28th seminar on How To Do Business With the City of Evanston, please check out a recording of the event here.

Economic Development

2100 Ridge Avenue #3600
Evanston, IL 60201

Economic Development Division Manager:
Paul Zalmezak


Economic Development Coordinator:
Cindy Plante

Economic Development Specialist:
Paulina Martínez

General Inquiries: