Get the latest updates on COVID-19

Visit the Health and Human Services Department's COVID-19 webpage for the latest updates.

(Visite la página web Evanston en Español para obtener las últimas actualizaciones.)


Climate Action Resilience Plan Working Group

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


In November 2018, the final draft of the Climate Action and Resilience Plan (CARP) was made public. The City would like to thank those that submitted comments during the Public Comment Period from September 4 - 28 and/or attended a CARP-related event.


On Saturday, September 23, 2017, Mayor Stephen Hagerty kicked off the City's next Climate Action and Resilience Planning process at an event at the Evanston Ecology Center. The Mayor appointed 16 members of the community to the Climate Action and Resilience Plan (CARP) Working Group with the task of creating the next climate action plan for the City. The group, made up of 16 voting members and a student representative from Evanston Township High School, worked to create a community-based plan by hosting several stakeholder events in which local organizations and community members voiced their concerns and ideas to aid in this process. On November 13, 2018, the working group was dissolved.

Who was the Working Group?

Details about the Working Group can be found on this page, including: a member list, meeting schedule, minutes, agendas and packets. The Working Group met from November 7, 2017 to November 13, 2018. While the Working Group was in session, the Office of Sustainability oversaw the meetings and the members of this group. If you are looking for additional information related to CARP and its goals, please visit the Climate Change web page.

Likwan Cheng
Sarah Lovinger, MD
Jack Darin Lauren Marquez-Viso (Co-Chair)
Robert Dean Gabriela Martin
Joel Freeman (Co-Chair)
John Moore
Jerri Garl
Mariana Oliver
Vickie Jacobsen
Judy Pollock
Christopher Kucharczyk
Gajan Sivandran
Emily Lawrence
Lonnie Wilson

Henry Eberhart 
(Ex-officio Member)

CARP Member Bios


Agendas and Minutes

Meetings were held on the first Tuesday of each month, unless otherwise indicated, beginning on Tuesday, December 5, 2017 and concluding on Tuesday, December 4, 2018. Below is a list of the scheduled meetings. All meetings took place on the date indicated unless the Working Group determined otherwise.

Date Agenda Minutes Documents
November 7, 2017
 Minutes  Staff Presentation
December 5, 2017 Agenda  Minutes  
January 9, 2018 Agenda  Minutes  Member Presentation
February 6, 2018 Agenda  Minutes  
March 6, 2018 Agenda   Minutes  
March 14, 2018 (Special Meeting) Agenda  No Quorum  
April 3, 2018  Agenda  Minutes  
May 1, 2018  Agenda  Minutes  
June 5, 2018 Agenda  Minutes  Staff Presentation
July 10, 2018 Agenda    Minutes  Packet
August 7, 2018 Agenda   Minutes  Packet
September 4, 2018   CANCELED    
October 2, 2018 Agenda   Minutes All Submitted Comments_Final (Excel) and Summary of Submitted Public Comment
October 9, 2018  Agenda  Minutes  
November 13, 2018 Agenda  Minutes  Final Meeting, Working Group Dissolved on 11/13/18.


Task Force Meetings and Minutes

 Task Force  Date  Agenda  Minutes  Documents
Adaptation Task Force  January 3, 2018  Agenda  Minutes  
Mitigation Task Force  January 23, 2018 Agenda  Minutes  
Adaptation Task Force  January 24, 2018 Agenda  Minutes  
Mitigation Task Force  February 22, 2018 Agenda   Minutes   
Engagement Task Force  February 27, 2018 Agenda    
Adaptation Task Force  February 27, 2018 Agenda    
Mitigation Task Force  March 27, 2018 Agenda   Minutes  
Adaptation Task Force  March 27, 2018 Agenda  Minutes  
Adaptation Task Force   April 15, 2018 Canceled    
Adaptation Task Force  April 23, 2018 Agenda Minutes  
Mitigation Task Force   April 24, 2018 Agenda  Minutes   
Mitigation Task Force  May 21, 2018 Agenda Minutes  
Adaptation Task Force  May 24, 2018 Agenda     
Mitigation Task Force  June 14, 2018 Agenda Minutes  
Adaptation Task Force  June 26, 2018 Agenda Minutes  
Mitigation Task Force  August 2, 2018 Agenda  Minutes  
Adaptation Task Force  August 4, 2018 Agenda    


Climate Action Resilience Plan Bylaws

 Joel Freeman (Co-Chair) Gabriela Martin
Mariana Oliver
Mariana Oliver
Mariana Oliver
Mariana Oliver
Mariana Oliver
Mariana Oliver
Mariana Oliver
Mariana Oliver
Mariana Oliver
Mariana Oliver
Mariana Oliver