Voting Information


The Consolidated Primary Election will take place on Tuesday, February 28, 2017. The Consolidated General Election will take place on Tuesday, April 4, 2017.

Election Day Voting     Early Voting     Mail Voting (including Overseas and Military Voters)    Grace Period Registration and Voting

Primary Election Day Voting:Hours are 6:00am to 7:00pm at your polling location on February 28. 

Primary consolidated election is only for Mayor and Ward 5 Alderman. 

Voters are notified by the Cook County Clerk's office of their polling place address in a mailing prior to the election. Find your voter information, polling place and a sample ballot (when available) by clicking here

Primary Early Voting.Hours are 9:00am-5:00pm (Monday-Saturday) February 13-27. 

Early Voting is another way to vote before Election Day. It must be done in person at a designated Early Voting site. Click here for Early Voting locations (link is updated for each election).

What do you need to Early Vote?

Government-issued photo ID is not required but is helpful if there is a question about the voter's registration, address or signature.  

You can Register to Vote at ALL Early Vote Sites. NOTE: Any voter who needs to register for the first time or file an address change or name change must present two forms of ID, one of which shows the voter's current address.

 Acceptable forms of ID include:

  • Illinois driver's license
  • Illinois state ID
  • Employee or student ID
  • Credit card
  • Social security card
  • Birth certificate
  • Utility bill in applicant's name
  • Mail postmarked to the applicant
  • Valid U.S. passport
  • Public aid ID card
  • Lease or rental contract

Mail Voting

Voting by mail is a convenient way to cast your ballot if you are unable to get to your polling place on Election Day or to cast your ballot in-person during Early Voting at a designated Early Voting site. Any registered suburban Cook County voter may apply for a mail ballot. It is no longer necessary to provide a reason. This section also includes information on Overseas and Military Voting.

How to vote by mail

To obtain an application to vote by mail, registered suburban Cook County voters can:

  • Download and print the mail ballot application (applications are also available in  Spanish, Hindi and Chinese), or
  • Call the Clerk's office at (312) 603-0946 to request that we mail you an application, or
  • Pick one up at any of the Clerk's six office locations.
  • First day to apply for a mail ballot is August 10, 2016 and the Last day to request a mail ballot, including military and overseas voters is November 3, 2016

NOTE: Applications must be submitted by mail, certified courier or in person. Applications cannot be accepted by email or fax.

If the election is a primary election, you must indicate your party preference (Democratic, Republican, non-partisan or other) on your application.

Once we receive your application and verify your registration, we will send you a paper ballot at the address you designate on your application. After making your selections and completing the certification form on the back of the envelope and signing it, mail or deliver your ballot back to us. Please note: if the certification form (on the back of the return envelope) is not signed, your ballot will not be counted.

Mailed ballots must be postmarked by the day before Election Day and received in the County Clerk's office within 14 days after the election in order to be counted. Mailed ballots are processed and counted at our central office.

More information about Mail Voting:

Grace-period Registration and Voting

Grace period registration and voting extends the registration period by allowing voters to register to vote up to three days before an election. However, guidelines limit when and where grace period registrants can vote. More

Upcoming Election: April 4, 2017

Filing period for candidates seeking election at the April 4, 2017 CONSOLIDATED ELECTION

1. Petitions may NOT be circulated prior to September 20, 2016. [10ILCS 5/10-4]

2. Filing Period-Begins December 12-19, 2016 [10ILCS 5/10-1(a)]

3. To determine your number of signatures is as follows:

  • Formula: 5% of the votes cast during the last Municipal Election
  • Then 8% of the total votes cast during the last Municipal Election
  • Then add 50 to the smallest number of the 5% or the 8% calculation
  • The minimum signatures needed will be the smallest number obtained from the multplication & addition
  • The maximum signatures needed will be the largest number obtained from the same process (anything over will be disqualified)

See the Cook County Clerk's website for more information.